Tuesday, September 11, 2012

Call for participation: 2013 MyCOE / SERVIR Initiative in the Himalayas for Undergraduate and Graduate Students

The MyCOE / SERVIR Initiative in the Himalayas is a 10-month fellowship program for undergraduate and graduate students who are citizens of eligible countries*, currently enrolled in any field at an institution of higher education in an eligible country with ideas and plans for research that address themes of Climate Change in Mountain Area Regions using geographic technologies. Students are invited to propose a research project and will be competitively selected on the basis of their long-term potential to contribute to these topics in the region.  The MyCOE / SERVIR program will provide students with customized capacity training in GIS, remote sensing, GPS, and/or spatial techniques to help them enrich their research proposals. They will also receive professional development, have access to additional mentoring by international experts and engage in an online community with other fellows. Interested students must apply with a mentor who is willing to work closely with them throughout the duration of the program and attend the workshop. The program provides travel support and research stipends for both students and their mentors.

Up to 15 teams of students and their mentors will be selected for this Himalayas Initiative.  Over the life of the program, participants will have the opportunity to interact and exchange ideas with approximately 60 other teams from around the world that will be selected through MyCOE / SERVIR global initiatives.

The official language for this initiative is English.

Partners: My Community, Our Earth: Geographic Learning for Sustainable Development (MyCOE), Association of American Geographers (AAG) (MyCOE Secretariat); National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), United States Agency for International Development (USAID), The SERVIR Global Program; International Center for Integrated Mountain Development (ICIMOD), SERVIR-Himalaya and others.

*Eligible countries: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal and Pakistan. 
Please note that to be eligible, all participants must be citizens of one of the eligible countries AND also be studying (students) or working (mentors) and residing in the same or another of the eligible countries.

For more information please see
Inquiries may be directed to

No comments: